JESUS 2.0

This is a project I’ve been working on called Jesus 2.0.  It’s an infographic guide to performing some of JC’s most popular miracles,  printed on communion wafers. Pretty sweet huh? Yes, I know, it’s potentially offensive. However, my intentions for this project were primarily to amuse, rather than to offend. I do love the idea of sending these as direct mail to Roman Catholic churches; the edginess and potential to get a big reaction excites me. However, I feel the chances of my concept and design work being appreciated by say, the Pope, is approximately nil. That’s what I like about this idea; it has both the ability to amuse and to offend. So my two target audiences would be the Atheist community and the Christian community. I think I developed some unusual and funny visual metaphors, albeit some more strained than others. I wanted it to be modern and relevant. I’m not concerned about the symbols being instantly and correctly interpretable; it’s that action of puzzling over each metaphor that will engage the audience.

I acquired the wafers online. I couldn’t make do with foam core fakeries, as I felt that tactile element, the texture and weight of the wafers, would help me connect with the viewer through the sense of touch. Rather than sticking prints of each symbol onto the surface of each disc of communion bread, I want to print each symbol in food colouring, so that each wafer would remain perfectly edible. I do think that communion wafers are the perfect carrier for my infographics, and I’m piggy-backing on the powerful inherent symbolism. The wafers are made in such a way that a congregation in practice is able to break them into parts for distribution, and that action of distribution among brothers and sisters becomes a metaphor for the spreading of my message.

I used a nasty compact camera to document my research, experimentation and development of this project.  Here I’m feeding my brain with infographic goodness.

Infographics are dead interesting. In case you’re unfamilliar with them, I’m going to be a wikipediaphile and  copy-paste some information about them to clue you up…

My dear friend Wikipedia says “Information graphics or infographics are graphic visual representations of information, data or knowledge.These graphics present complex information quickly and clearly, such as in signs, maps, journalism, technical writing, and education. With an information graphic, computer scientists, mathematicians, and statisticians develop and communicate concepts using a single symbol to process information.” wow Wikipedia, that’s fascinating! do go on…

” Today information graphics surround us in the media, in published works both pedestrian and scientific, in road signs and manuals. They illustrate information that would be unwieldy in text form, and act as a visual shorthand for everyday concepts such as stop and go.”

Next follows some of my brain vomit…just throwing some ideas down onto paper :D.  I’m trying to come up with a symbol that says “YOU ARE JESUS 2.0”, in other words, the second-coming. You have to be careful with hierarchy of information; if i’d placed the pointing hand below JC it would have given it an Uncle Sam thing, “Jesus wants YOU”.

There’s some experiments on the above sheet that explore the cursing of the fig tree. I’d never heard of this one before, but it’s the equivalent to me hurling verbal abuse at the fridge upon finding it empty. I didn’t develop this one any further as it felt too obscure, but I had fun with it anyway.

Above I’m experimenting with the feeding of the 5,000, curing the lepers and the Resurrection . If you want to feed 5k, why not get a job at McDonald’s? The curing of the lepers kind of became the curing of the social lepers, with symbols including spotty geeks and a tube of acne cream. The Resurrection became the incredible feat of getting out of bed on a Sunday morning after an alcohol fueled Saturday night…I’m going to hell :D.

Water into wine was a toughie. I was thinking student loan into Jagermeister as an alternative, but it just didn’t work. Eventually I thought why not turn the miracle on its head and do wine into water? Urine is about 95% water.

Experimenting with raising a mummy, walking on water and the calming of the storm.

 

Ta-da.

Leave a Reply

