Fluttering at the edge of dreams

I found myself messing around with symmetrical patterns this evening, and it got me thinking about moths and butterflies. They both have exquisite patterns on their wings, but moths are normally less brilliantly coloured.  Wikipediaphile and proud, I made a quick curiosity-fueled google search. What’s interesting is that there are often ultraviolet patterns and hues in a moth’s wings that we cannot see, but which may be seen by other moths. How cool is that?

I decided that get Photoshop to do what it does best; making me feel like a God.  This was just for fun, but I’m sure I’ll find a place for these dudes in one of my next illustrations. If you happen to be a web-surfing lepidopterist with a lot of free time, these may amuse you 🙂

Untitled from AnimateArt on Vimeo.

2 comments

  1. As a web-surfing occasional lepidopterist (I worked on several fieldword-based projects on endangered moths), this very much intrigued me!

    1. I knew it would be of interest to someone! How marvelous 🙂 thank you for the comment.

Leave a Reply

